My little trooper travelers

The K family has had a busy fall, and it’s not over yet. In the past 3 months, we have completed not one, not two, but five car trips with the kiddos. Yep, you read that right. We’ve gone on 5 car trips since August, and we’re not through yet. With all of that driving, I have found myself being very grateful for three things:

1. My husband does all of the driving.

I have an admission to make. I fall asleep if I drive long distances. When my sister got married, her in-laws threw her a shower about 3 hours away from the Cities. I had to stop at a gas station on my way home to buy a cold caffeinated drink in order to get home semi-safely. So I’m very happy to say that my husband is amazing and does all of the driving on long car trips. Also, Kevin driving lets me climb between into the back seat if any crying does start.

2. We bought a minivan with a DVD player in it.

We didn’t watch movies on car trips when I was a little kid, so I didn’t fully appreciate how awesome a built-in DVD player would be. Lynnie will literally watch TV shows for an entire 13 hour drive, which makes it much more pleasant for Mom and Dad. GIbby tries to watch, but he’s still pretty little and in a rear-facing car seat. I’m counting the months until we can turn his seat around and let him watch too!

3. Our children are amazing travelers.

Lynn gets totally absorbed in her movies, and Gibby loves reading books!

car trip!Some of our friends have said that their kids cry the whole way to Wisconsin. In an 8-hour drive, we only have one or two melt-downs, and even those are usually short-lived. As long as I can climb into the back and sit between the munchkins for a few minutes, the tears stop quickly and giggling (or quiet tv watching) resume.

Here’s the list of our favorite car “necessities” with the munchkins: puzzles, stickers & paper, board books (because Gibby still tears the pages of real books as we found out on one trip), trucks, movies.

What tricks do you have for getting through long car trips with little ones?

Leave a Reply

