Multitasking Mama

There’s one thing that every member of the Mommy Club probably had to figure out how to do well: multitasking. If my kids are home, even going to the bathroom tends to involve entertaining a child at the same time.  Most mornings I find myself doing at least two things simultaneously, but at one point this morning, I was doing 5 things at the same time.

Lulu has been going to gymnastics on Friday mornings since I’ve been on maternity leave, so I needed to get both kids and myself ready to leave the house by 8:45. I managed to feed the baby and grab a quick shower before Lulu woke up (that’s definitely a win!). After getting her out of bed, dressed and started on breakfast, I found myself engaged in literally five activities at once:

  • Pumping a bottle to freeze for the Gibster
  • Eating a peanut butter & jelly sandwich for breakfast
  • Mopping up spilled globs of yogurt from Lulu’s shirt and helping her finish her breakfast
  • Shooing the dog away to keep him from eating Lulu’s breakfast
  • Rocking the baby in his car seat and retrieving his nuk when it fell out

The great thing about this morning is that I finished all of those things by 8:30! We still had 15 minutes to spare, so I was able to pack a snack for Lulu to eat after gymnastics and read her a story before we left. There’s no way we would’ve been ready to go on time if I had tried to wait for Lulu to finish eating before I started my breakfast or before I pumped.

So why do mom’s multitask so much? For me, getting necessary things done at the same time often means that I can spend just a few more minutes snuggling with the baby or reading to my toddler before we head out the door in the morning. And let’s face it, those are really the important things in life.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dodging Acorns
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 21:31:12

    Does tonight count? I managed to pour wine while.cutting strawberries for dinner….. Ambidextrous is another skill I learned as a mom 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

