Sleep: It’s a wonderful thing

Newborns have simple needs: feed me, change my diaper and hold me. That’s pretty much it. Unfortunately, those needs don’t take a break during the night. I guess that explains why most parents are very familiar with sleep deprivation. You just learn how to function on less sleep, but that doesn’t mean you wouldn’t love to get more sleep if you can.

As a breastfeeding mom, I’ve been handling the overnight feedings. Of course Hubby’s offered to help, but I would still have to get up and pump, so it’s just not really worth it in my opinion. For the last few weeks, the Gibster and I have been waking up every 3 hours or so for him to eat. But we recently had a breakthrough.

Baby boy has slept through the night two nights in a row!

I guess I should probably define what I mean by “slept through the night.” Sleeping through the night definitely means something different now than it did before we had kids. But I think the past two nights would meet pretty much anyone’s definition. Gib slept from midnight until 6:00 the first night, and yesterday he slept from about 12:30 until 5:30.

I will take 5 or 6 hours of sleep in a row anytime! I’m one happy mommy.  Here’s hoping it’s the start of a new habit.

Yeah, yeah, the picture’s not from him sleeping in bed, but doesn’t he look cute anyway?

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Janine
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 21:06:37

    Just caught up on your blog. It was great reading. Thanks for sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

