Baby Boy’s Arrival

Well I promised you a birth story, so here it is. You should probably know that Lulu arrived one day before her due date. By the time we got to the hospital with her, I was already 7 cm dilated, and she was born about 2 hours later.

The Gibster proved that every baby is different, even before we got to meet him. Remember how I said that a nurse practitioner got my hopes up that he would come early? Well, she was wrong. As we got closer to his due date, I was convinced that each day would be the day. Once January 21st came and passed, I had definitely had enough of being pregnant. Don’t get me wrong, I would do it all over again in a heartbeat, but I was so ready to hold our baby boy in my arms instead of my belly.

I became more and more frustrated with each day that passed. I’m a planner. Unfortunately, you can’t plan when baby will arrive. Well, actually. I guess you can since that’s what we ended up doing. My doctor agreed that if Baby Boy wasn’t here by January 26th, we would “make him come” (doc’s words, not mine).

So the morning of January 26th, Hubby and I got up early and took Lulu to daycare. Then we headed to the hospital. They checked us in, and my doctor broke my water around 8. Then it was a waiting game. We walked up and down the halls, bounced on a big exercise ball, and played cribbage. Around 11, my nurse (who was amazing!) started the pitocin.

I already knew I wanted an epidural, so the nurses asked me probably every 30 minutes if I was “ready for that epidural” yet. For some reason I wanted to feel like I was doing something to bring our little one into the world, so I held off until around 4 in the afternoon.

The anesthesiologist was wonderful. He put up with my pain-induced loopy sense of humor and got the epidural going fairly quickly.

The nurse checked me around 5, and I was still only about 6 cm dilated. She decided to have dinner, but told me to page her if I felt like I needed her. About 30 minutes later my doctor came by to check on me before he also left for dinner. He quickly checked my cervix and declared, “You’re ready to have this baby now.”

Hubby and I didn’t really believe him at first! I was laughing so much that the doctor told me to quit because he’d “had a woman laugh the baby out before,” and the bed wasn’t broken down yet.

I don’t know what I expected, but I didn’t expect the baby to be born after only two pushes. But that’s what happened!

Seriously.

I pushed twice, and they put this amazing little boy on my belly. I couldn’t believe that I got to hold him so quickly. I know it’s silly to say, but it was really magical.

Then the spell was broken when he pooped on my belly. His official birth weight was 8 pounds and 4 ounces, but we’re pretty sure he was actually heavier at birth. The nurse speculated that he must have lost a few ounces on my stomach.

I guess it might be because he’s our second child, but I have to say that I wasn’t even phased by the meconium on my tummy. All I could think about was that my husband and I were the luckiest people in the world. We already had a gorgeous, smart, wonderful little girl, and now we have a perfect baby boy as well. Could life get any better?

Here’s a picture of baby G right after he was born:

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Becky Spurbeck
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 20:16:55

    Awesome story. Also, this is the best paragraph I’ve read (and reread) in a long time. I literally laughed out loud when I was reading. Great story; good visual.

    “Then the spell was broken when he pooped on my belly. His official birth weight was 8 pounds and 4 ounces, but we’re pretty sure he was actually heavier at birth. The nurse speculated that he must have lost a few ounces on my stomach.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

