One Post Wonder

You know those dinners that they call “one pot wonders” because you just throw everything in a pot, and it’s basically an entire meal? Well, think of this post as a “one post wonder.” I’m going to try to catch you up on everything that’s happened in the past six months. I apologize now for the length of this post.

I’m torn between trying to write this post in chronological order or give you the most important news first. Important news wins out. Our beautiful baby boy is here! Well, he’s actually been here for almost six weeks now. I can’t believe I’m just now getting around to posting about his arrival (more to come in a later post). Here’s a fairly recent picture. Isn’t he adorable?

Okay, now that that’s out of the way, I’ll try to run through what we’ve been up to for the past few months. The last time I posted, it was September, so let’s start with October.

October: We took Lulu to Oklahoma to visit my Mimi and Papa. Lulu loved swimming in my grandparent’s pool, especially since Papa heated it up for us. We also had a great time at the Oklahoma City zoo. It was really fun taking Lynn somewhere that my grandparents used to take me when I was a little girl.

November: Hubby and I hosted our first Thanksgiving last November. My sister, brother and his fiancé, grandparents, and uncle came to Minnesota to spend the holiday with us. My brother is Lulu’s Godfather, so it was great for her to see him again.

December: Obviously, Christmas was the highlight of December. My Mimi bought Lulu a pretty dress in October that I had planned on her wearing for Christmas. Unfortunately, we realized a couple of weeks before the holidays that it was going to be too small. The week before Christmas I was scrambling to find a dress that I liked for less than $40. Want to know where I found it? Target! Isn’t she gorgeous?

January: As my belly got bigger, Lulu became more and more attached to the baby in there. When I dropped her off at daycare, she started coming over and kissing my belly to say good-bye to the baby. So cute!

The first month of 2012 seems like a blur of doctor’s appointments. In reality, it was just the regular weekly appointments, but I really did feel like I was always leaving work early to go listen to the baby’s heart beat. Unfortunately, the nurse practitioner at my 37 week appointment made the mistake of telling me that she thought the baby was going to come early. That, of course, meant that I spent the rest of the month on pins and needles. Our Little Man didn’t come until we induced on January 26, which was after his due date.

February to now: Now that the baby’s here, life is certainly a little more hectic, but it’s also pretty great. Lulu is such a wonderful big sister. She loves helping us change her baby brother’s diapers. It probably helps that his diapers have Elmo on them.

I’m loving maternity leave, especially now that we have the warmest March any of us can remember here in Minnesota. I actually took the kiddos to the park twice today, just to take advantage of the sun!

Alright, well that’s it for now. For those of you mommies who feel cheated out of a birth story, don’t worry. The next post will have all the fun details!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dodging Acorns
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 20:28:34

    well it’s about time woman! 😉

    Reply

  2. Glenda Payne
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 20:55:44

    Precious family!!!

    Reply

  3. Glenda Payne
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 20:56:42

    Can’t wait to see all of you again.

    Reply

  4. Becky Spurbeck
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 22:54:46

    I’m excited to read more stories. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

