Heard of Pregnancy Amnesia? It’s real.

When my daughter was about 10-months-old, I started getting the itch. My poor husband listened to me talk about how much I missed being pregnant and how great it would be to have another little one around the house.

To his credit, he didn’t once remind me about how awful I felt during the first trimester of our first pregnancy. Nor did her mention how he frequently had to make dinner because I simply didn’t want to eat. He didn’t even say anything about my crazy mood swings.

Instead, he quietly reminded me that we planned to wait until Lulu was 1 year old before trying for a second. Well, like many couples we figured it wouldn’t happen on the first time, right? Wrong. Last May we found out that we were going to be having another child, and I was thrilled!

I truly thought that being pregnant was amazing. I told my friends that it was the best I’d ever felt, and I was excited to feel that way again. After all, my maternity clothes fit better than my regular clothes anyway.

Unfortunately, that type of thinking was definitely caused by pregnancy amnesia.

After a couple of weeks, the morning sickness set in. I had conveniently forgotten that I was sick all the time with our first daughter. My doctor finally gave me Zofran so that I would quit vomiting multiple times every day. This time around, I’ve gotten by with only taking it occasionally, but I’m certainly rekindling my intimate relationship with our toilets.

Then there are the migraines. I didn’t have them with Lulu, so I was surprised when around 18 weeks I started feeling more nauseous and getting awful headaches. The lovely nurse at my OB’s office suggested that I was having “classic migraine” symptoms, so she prescribed me another medication for that. Of course, it’s got acetometaphine in it, so I can’t try Tylenol first to see if that works well enough.

Oh, and those maternity clothes that I was longing to wear again? Of course they don’t fit yet. I’ve been stuck in clothing limbo for about 2 months now. My belly “popped” just enough around 12 weeks that my regular pants were too tight, but my maternity pants were falling off. Even now, I find myself struggling to keep the belly band part of the pants up throughout the day.

Despite all of that, I am still completely thrilled about our new baby. I can hardly wait until next week for our ultrasound. Hopefully baby won’t be too shy, so we can find out if we’re having a boy or a girl. I think baby’s a boy, but of course I’ll just be happy to see 10 fingers, 10 toes and a healthy heartbeat.

So maybe pregnancy amnesia really does exist. But you know what? I’m glad it does. I hope I get to look back on this pregnancy with as many good memories as I have of our first.

Leave a Reply

