It’s time for a new name for Baby Girl

I think I’ve finally come to grips with the idea that our Baby Girl isn’t really a baby anymore. I know I’ve said it before, but it’s starting to sink in that she really is a toddler. She’s becoming such an independent little lady, which is amazing to watch. So I guess she needs a new nickname for the blog. From here on out, we’ll just call her Lulu.

Last weekend we got a great reminder of just how much Lulu isn’t a baby anymore. One of my best friends gave birth to a beautiful baby girl on August 7. Little Lucy is perfect. We were privileged to get to see the family in the hospital the day after Lucy was born.

Hubby and I brought our little girl with us, but we weren’t quite sure how she would react to the newborn. Anyway, Lulu did wonderfully with Lucy. She gave the baby hugs and was very gentle with her.

Lulu didn’t quite understand why I wouldn’t give her the baby to walk around with, but how much can you really ask of a 14-month-old? All in all, I’d say she did fantastically well with the tiny baby.

Later last week we visited the family at home to drop off some presents for the Lucy. Again, Lulu did a great job. At first she ignored the newborn, but then she came over and gave her a hug and was very gentle again.

I’m so excited to see how she will do with a little brother or sister of her own! We keep telling her that she’s going to be a big
sister soon, but I’m sure she doesn’t know what that means. We say that she’ll have a baby brother or sister of her own soon, but again, I don’t think she understands the concept yet.

For those of you who have multiple children, how did you help your toddlers understand what was happening when you became pregnant with the second baby?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. michele c
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:04:57

    We just did the same as you, telling him I had a baby in my belly, and that he would be a big brother soon and have someone to play with. Once we knew the sex and could call her by name it really helped. He knew her name before she was born 🙂 and thankfully he was always fabulous with her. Until she started to reach for his toys. 2u2 is amazing and incredibly challenging. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

