A new family tradition

There are some things you just have to do to maintain your sanity. For Hubby and me, taking a weekend just to ourselves was definitely one of those things. Our anniversary was actually July 24, but we couldn’t get away then, so we celebrated last weekend instead.

We dropped Baby Girl off at Hubby’s parent’s house and headed for the cabin. It was the longest I’ve ever been away from her, but it was such a great thing to do! L had tons of fun with her grandparents (who of course were ecstatic to have her for a whole  weekend), and Hubby and I were able to spend some time alone.

The best part of the weekend for me was that we didn’t really do anything. I read a book cover-to-cover while Hubby read his own. We played a few board games and just generally enjoyed each other’s company. It was wonderful.

I thought I would be miserable about leaving Baby Girl alone for more than one night (our previous longest time away), but it was actually a good experience. We slept in both days, and it was amazing. I missed her, of course, but I didn’t feel the guilt I expected.

When we picked Baby Girl up from my in-laws’ house on Sunday evening, she gave me the absolute longest hug she ever has. I picked her up in my arms, and she just laid her head on my shoulder for a few minutes. She was clearly happy to see us, but she also seemed to have had a great time with her grandparents.

So, I’ve decided that this needs to be a yearly tradition. The hubby and I will take at least one weekend to just ourselves every year. Ideally, that weekend will be sometime near our anniversary, so that we can use that time to reconnect and just enjoy each other’s company. Being parents is great, but being in love with your kids’ other parent is pretty great, too.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dodging Acorns
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 22:12:40

    SOOO important! We are scheduling ours for a weekend this fall – with all of our life changes (knee injuries, moving across the country) we haven’t been able to do this for 2 years, but this year we are doing it. Our plan is a night in Manhattan and I CANNOT wait. I do get a night to myself next weekend though as I head to RI overnight w/o Mr. Acorns and the kids. Just me. I’m giddy and sad at the same time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

