We’re back!

I know. I know. How could I go two full months without blogging? I’m sorry. I really am. But I promise that I have a good excuse. … drum roll please …

We’re having another baby!

Can you tell I’m excited? Hubby and I found out just before Baby Girl’s birthday party here in Minnesota, but we didn’t want to make any announcements until we were absolutely sure everything would be okay. Now that we’ve passed the 13 week mark, I’m excited to let everyone know.

So here’s the skinny on baby number two. We went in for an 8 week ultrasound on June 17, and the little bean was doing great. Did you know that the risk of miscarriage goes down by 90% once the baby’s heart rate starts beating at 120 beats per minute or faster? At least that’s what our nurse practitioner told us after she confirmed that Baby’s heartbeat was 160.

The first few months were exhausting. Apparently chasing a 1 year old around makes the whole growing a new life thing more tiring. Well, now I’m nearly 14 weeks along today and feeling much better. Hubby couldn’t come to my appointment last Monday, so the doctor took a picture for him. Want to see?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Isn’t it amazing how much detail you can already see at only 13 weeks?

Oh – and here’s what the belly looks like. Ladies, when people say you show earlier with the second one, believe them!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay, enough about the new baby (for now). So much has happened with Baby Girl over the past couple of months. We’re almost through with this swim class session, but I’m sure we’ll sign up for the next one. Little L loves it!

Last week, we were singing the welcome song in a circle when L reached out and clearly wanted to swim across to the other side of the circle. Do you know what she wanted? To say hi to my friend’s baby E. So cute!

She’s babbling up a storm these days but not saying too many real words. We’ve got “dada” and “ut oh” down pat. “Hi” is pretty understandable too (it helps that she waves when she says it). Otherwise, she communicates fairly well with basic sign language.

Hubby and I were trying to cut down on the screaming when Baby Girl wanted something when a friend suggested  eaching her to say “please” in sign language. It works! She can sign “please” and point to what she wants, so she doesn’t throw a tantrum nearly as often anymore. Of course, if Mom or Dad say “no” or wait too long to retrieve the desired object, she still gets mad, but hey – she’s still a baby.

Well, I suppose that’s enough for today. I’ll try to get back into the swing of posting regularly again.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura K
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 15:46:15

    *does a little dance* So stinkin’ happy for you guys! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sue Goetz
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 17:39:12

    Yippy, congrats to all of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

