Our first swimming lesson

Baby girl and I went to our first swimming lesson today. A friend of mine has a 9-month old baby boy, so we decided it would be fun to take swim lessons together. We were definitely right!

At first, baby E (my friend’s little boy) seemed to like the water more than Baby Girl. He splashed and giggled right away. L seemed to need a little more time to adjust, but soon enough she was smiling and laughing, too.

I was a little nervous when I realized that the babies range from 8 or 9 months at the young end to 2 years at the oldest. We arrived early for our class and watched as two “older” (meaning probably 2 years old) boys screamed through their classes. But my nerves were totally unwarranted.

Every baby in our class seemed to have a good time. There were 9 babies, some with one parent and a few with both in the class. I
think I’ll try to get Hubby to come next time since I know we can both go.

The class is perfect for the babies. It’s mostly based around singing silly songs with swimming motions mixed in. For example, there’s a song about a turtle that blows bubbles. The babies make the turtle with their hands and then blow bubbles when we get to that part of the song.

L hasn’t quite figured out how to blow bubbles, but she thinks it’s funny when I do. She tried, but I think she ended up drinking
more pool water than much of anything else.

Anyway, I’m very excited for the next class. We’ll be out of town next weekend, so I’m bummed we’ll miss out. But at least it’s something to look forward to for the Saturday when we get back. I’m so glad we decided to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

