Chasing shadows

Have I mentioned how excited I am that it is finally sunny? It’s the first week of May, and it finally feels like spring. Baby girl and I can play outside again. It’s fantastic.

Earlier this week, Hubby and I took baby girl for a nice long walk. The sun was shining, and we wandered our way over to Punch Pizza for dinner and back. Then we put the little one to bed, and it was still sunny outside.

I think if I could, I would live in a place that is sunny most of the year. Hubby says you have to have Minnesota winter to truly appreciate spring days, but I totally disagree. I would appreciate sunny and 70s if it only snowed one month out of the year instead of nine.

Anyway, I was saying how much I love the sunny weather. Well yesterday and today baby girl and I have played in the front yard after work. We walk up to the end of our sidewalk, and then she chases her shadow back toward the house. The first time she noticed shadows I was holding her while walking back from church. It took me a second to figure out why she kept leaning over to look at the ground.

Then yesterday she noticed that she could “chase” her shadow. I waved and she looked excitedly from my waving shadow back to me. She took big wobbly steps toward her own shadow, but it kept running ahead of her. She bent down to try to touch the shadow and was confused when she touched the concrete.

All in all, it was adorable. Watching my daughter chase her shadow is definitely one of my favorite things about spring so far. What else will she discover in the next few months?

Leave a Reply

