Where did the past 11 months go?

Can you believe my baby is already 11 months old? She’s a beautiful, healthy, active little girl. Basically, she’s perfect. But what happened to my tiny baby?

When we brought our daughter home from the hospital last June, my husband and I looked at her in awe as she sat in her car seat. We picked her up and cuddled her for hours. We watched her with wonder as she peered at us with sleepy eyes.

When she was six weeks old, she smiled at us. I remember being overjoyed that she could recognize our faces and smile. Then she started gurgling, and the gurgling became babbling.

Around three and a half months she learned how to turn herself over and how to sit up. At five months she started to crawl. The first time she reached forward and dragged herself a few inches, I was amazed. I’ll admit that I encouraged her to keep trying and cheered her when she moved even a tiny bit forward. By six months she was on the move! And by nine months, she was up and walking.

Now baby L can sit and play with her toys or walk away if she wants to. She can climb the stairs and crawl on top of the dog. She can chase her shadow on the sidewalk, and she bounce with excitement when her daddy comes into the room.  

It’s crazy to think that just 1 year ago, she was still curled up inside my belly, and Hubby and I were eagerly awaiting her arrival into the world. Those first few weeks after she was born flew by, and it doesn’t seem possible that 11 months have passed since she was born.

I’m excited to celebrate her first birthday, but it’s also bittersweet. I knew that being a parent meant teaching my daughter to be independent, but I didn’t expect it to start so soon. I knew that being a mom meant watching my little one become a big girl. With each milestone comes joy, and also a little bit of sadness. I want to hold on to her babyhood for just a little bit longer. Then she smiles and toddles over to me for a hug, and she reminds me that the best is definitely still to come.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Laura K
    May 06, 2011 @ 10:31:57

    There are definitely tears in my eyes as I type this. What you said is so true. I wish I could have held on to “babyhood” a little longer too. But it is SO awesome watching her grow up and figure things out. I can hardly wait until she really starts talking, the world will just open up to her even more. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

