Planning for baby’s birthday

I said it before, but I truly can’t believe it’s already time to start planning baby girl’s birthday party. She was born on June 3, 2010, so it’s still five weeks away. But we’ll be out of town on her actual birthday, and the weekend before is Memorial Day. So we decided to have her party on May 21, hence the planning already.

At first I thought I wanted to have a Monsters Inc. themed party. Since the day she was born, Hubby and I have called her “monster.” She got the nickname mostly because of this picture.

That was taken just moments after she was born, and for the first few months of her life, her hands looked like tiny monster hands when she was unhappy. So we started calling her monster, and it’s stuck.

So anyway, I was thinking of having a Monsters Inc. themed party, but then I realized how much more expensive that would be. The invitations, plates, decorations and such cost nearly $40 online. With all of that, I decided against the Monsters Inc. themed party.

Instead, we’ll go with a basic birthday party celebrating our baby girl. I’m hoping to make a couple of posters with pictures, and our house already has her pictures all over. Instead of letting the cartoon characters be the star, we’ll make it all about her.

With that in mind, I went to Paper Depot to pick out invitation supplies. I was so excited when I found purple cardstock on clearance for 20¢ each. Light-weight paper in a similar color cost 69¢ at Michaels! At first, I thought I would pair the purple with a light green to mimic the color scheme in her bedroom.

The lady at the store was incredibly helpful. She suggested I look at the sparkly green paper to add some “pop” to the invites. Even that seemed a little dull to me, so we looked at paper with prints. Eventually, this is what we ended up with.

I cut out all of the 1s at the store. Then hubby helped me print the actual invitation at home. We have a nice paper cutter here (Thanks, Mom!), so I was able to score and cut the cardstock without needing to make another trip out to Paper Depot.

All in all, we spent $15 on supplies and about 2 hours making the invitations. I’m really happy with how they turned out, and they were way less expensive than boring store-bought Monsters Inc invitations would have been. Now we just have to decide everything else about the birthday party.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dodging Acorns
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 21:22:38

    CUTE! The pic of Lynne… and the invitation 😉

    Reply

  2. Laura K
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 01:02:16

    They look SO cute! You really did a very nice job on them. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

