Heooooo. Can you hear me now?

I don’t know whether to break out the camera and document this “milestone” or cry because of what it must say about my life. Today, baby girl picked up my cell phone, put it to her ear and said “heooooo.” Then she gave me a big grin.

Normally, she picks up my phone and tries to eat it. This time, she knew what to do with it. Then she did it again when her daddy got home!

At first, I thought to myself, What does this say about how I spend my time? But then I decided that when I was a baby, I probably recognized regular telephones (does anyone still have those?), and my cell phone is the only phone I have. I don’t really spend much time talking on my phone on a regular basis, but it’s normal for baby girl to mimic what she sees me do.

I also figured that when I am on my phone, baby girl hears other voices she recognizes, like her daddy or grandparents. Maybe she expected to hear the voice of someone who loves her coming out of the phone.

In that light, it’s just plain cute that she knew what to do with it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dodging Acorns
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 10:47:49

    hehehe! Ben picks up his play phones and texts 😉 Just like his mama! The only phone I talk on is usually my land line (yes, we still have one!) so when he sees a cell-phone type phone he uses his little thumbs to start sending a message. *sigh* Oh well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

