Where’s baby girl? There she is!

Babies all over the world love to play peek-a-boo, or so I’m told. A friend was over for dinner last week, and she said that playing peek-a-boo makes babies in India giggle too.   

I believe it. The game itself is simple, but that’s part of why babies love it so much.

This is the first game baby girl really understood. Only we don’t say “peek-a-boo.” I have no idea why, but when baby girl was only a few weeks old, Hubby started saying “Where’s L?” when he hid behind a blanket and then “There she is!” when he pulled it away. It stuck.

Now that our daughter is a little bit older, she likes to instigate the game herself. When she’s on the changing table after her bath, she pulls the towel over her face and keeps it there until I say “Where’s baby L?” Then she pulls it down and giggles when I say “There she is.”

Sometimes she wants to play the game in reverse. She’ll hold a blanket over my face. When I dutifully say “Where’s Mommy?” she giggles and pulls the blanket away.

Those giggles make my heart happy. I swear there is no better sound in the world than my little one laughing. If happiness had a sound, it would be her laughter.

I was holding baby girl while she napped this afternoon and thought to myself: Is there anything better than holding my sleeping daughter in my arms? It took a second before I realized the answer to that question is actually yes (although that comes in a close second).

Making her laugh is even better.

When she woke up from her nap, she rubbed her eyes and squirmed for a minute. Then she opened her eyes and looked at me. As soon as she saw me, her face lit up. She smiled and then laughed when I kissed her hands. That, my friends, is the best.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. michele
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 22:19:56

    Baby giggles are the best!

    Reply

  2. Jamie
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 22:45:11

    Baby laughs are truely amazing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

