The life of an absent-minded working mom

*Warning: For all of the non-nursing moms who read my blog (this includes you, gentlemen), this post will discuss breastfeeding. If that makes you uncomfortable, you might want to come back another day.

Last chance. Are you sure you want to keep reading?

Okay, now that they’ve left, let’s talk about the reality of being a working mom. Being a working mom means you encounter “challenges” that you probably never thought about before you became a mom. For me, the hardest part is that I seem to have become a bit, well, absent-minded.

This morning I sent my daughter to daycare with her diaper bag. Nothing unusual about that. Unfortunately, I forgot that I used the diaper bag as my purse last night, so my wallet was still in the bag. Thankfully, I worked from home today, so I was able to make do without my cash and credit cards. Also thankfully, my daycare lady found my wallet, so I know it will be safe and sound when I pick baby girl up at the end of the day.

Leaving my wallet in the diaper bag isn’t the only absent-minded thing I’ve done lately. The other day, I forgot to bring bottles to work. Now, I’m sure everyone who is not a working mom is wondering why would you bring bottles to work?

To pump, of course.  

You know what I discovered during that misadventure? Breast pumps work without the bottles attached to them. Thankfully, I was able to place two cups underneath each side and pump without the bottles. Of course, I wasn’t able to keep the milk, but at least I wasn’t in pain all day either.

I have to say, most of the forgetful things I do are related in some way to pumping at work. Forgetting bottles is frustrating, but not critical. Forgetting other pump parts? That’s a different story. I have found myself manually expressing breast milk on two separate occasions now. I’m still not sure which would be more painful: the manually expressing or toughing it out without expressing any milk.

But pumping at work has also brought me many benefits besides the obvious (being able to provide the nutrition baby girl needs). I’m blessed to work for a company that provides private pumping rooms for nursing moms. And I’m also blessed to have made friendships with other nursing moms at work.

Would I have met these women otherwise? Probably. But would we have become as close friends as we are not? Probably not.

So all in all, being an absent-minded working mom can be challenging, but it is also rewarding. I know it’s not right for everyone, and I know it comes with some bumps along the way. But for my family, for right now, it’s working out pretty well, wouldn’t you say?

Leave a Reply

