Reading with baby

During the weekends, my favorite time with baby girl is the morning. She’s so smiley and happy, and she loves to play. During the week, I don’t get to spend nearly enough time with her in the morning, but I do get to spend the afternoons with her.

I usually get home at least a few minutes before Hubby, so baby girl and I feed the puppy and head up to her bedroom to play. I’m not the most organized person in the world, so her floor it littered with toys and books. But you know what? If I put them away, she’s just going to get them out again. And besides, there aren’t that many toys yet.

Once we get upstairs, I put her down to decide what she wants to do. Over the last couple of weeks, it’s been really fun seeing that she does actually make a decision. She knows what she wants, and she makes the choice to do it.

The other day, she used her crib to stand up and toddled over to the other side of the room. She bent down and picked up her COLORS book. She brought me the 4-page board book and reached up.

You know what she wanted? To climb on my lap and read her book. It’s the first book she ever helped me turn the pages on, and she still loves turning those pages. We usually have to read the book three or four times to get through each of the words.

“Ruby ladybug loves colors. She loves red. What else is red?” If I can get through all of that before baby girl is ready for a page turn, we’ve done pretty well. Then it’s on to naming the colored objects on each of the pages. Red, then yellow, then green, then blue.

I’ve got to tell you, I was so excited that she brought me the book. Hubby and I both love to read, and I hope baby girl shares our passion for books as well. We’re trying to help her learn to love words.

My favorite part of our bedtime routine is story time. I hold baby girl in the rocking chair, and Hubby reads us a story. Sometimes it’s a short book like “Guess How Much I Love You.” Lately, he’s been reading his way through a book of stories my parents bought when I was a baby. We just finished the last story in the book: The Lion and the Mouse.

Leave a Reply

