Watch out baby food, real food’s making an entrance

I’ve blogged before about making baby good for my daughter. She’s had lots of veggie purees, a few meats and lots of fruits. Her favorite foods are pieces of fruit, and those baby berries are definitely up there too. But until today, she hadn’t eaten the same thing as hubby and me for dinner.

That’s mostly because I don’t usually cook very good meals for hubby and me to eat. I think I mentioned it before, but I really dislike grocery shopping. I love to cook, but by the time I get home from the store I have usually lost my motivation. So hubby and I eat out a lot. Or we end up making boxed mac and cheese or frozen pizzas.

Today was different.

I made a (hopefully) decent meal from scratch. Since it’s a Friday in Lent, I made real macaroni and cheese. If you’re interested, I used Pioneer Woman’s recipe.*

Since our food wasn’t made with lots of chemicals and preservatives, baby girl got to eat the same thing as everyone else for dinner. She sat at the table with us and ate macaroni and cheese just like the rest of us.

Well, almost just like the rest of us.

No one else picked up the noodles with their hands or dropped every other bite on the floor for the dog to eat. Baby girl tried sticking her hand out with a noodle for the dog at first, but the dog got scolded for that. So she had to content herself with dropping pieces for him to snatch off the floor.  

Despite the fact that the dog probably ate more of baby girl’s dinner than she did, it was a fun milestone for our family. She enjoyed being able to feed herself, and we enjoyed watching her smile through dinner.

Who knows? It might even prompt me to do my grocery shopping on the weekends and make better dinners so we can repeat the experience.

UPDATE: Here’s a picture of the dog watching the baby while she eats.

*If you haven’t already discovered Pioneer Woman’s food blog, you’re missing out. Her cinnamon roll recipe is amazing! For this mac and cheese, I modified the recipe slightly. I used half muenster and half cheddar cheese instead of all cheddar. I also topped it with crushed Ritz crackers. It turned out pretty well for a first attempt.

Leave a Reply

