Keeping my fingers crossed for curls

Anyone who knows me knows that I have incredibly curly hair. We’re talking looks “like an afro if you try to straighten it” kind of curly hair. And I love it. It’s part of who I am. In fact, when I was pregnant, a co-worker mentioned that she had curly hair before she had children, but it loosened up a lot after her son was born. Now her hair is – I hate to say it – basically just frizzy.

Needless to say I was not pleased to hear that. It’s up there with “are you sure you want to eat that?” in my book of things you shouldn’t say to a pregnant lady.

Anyway, I was worried that giving birth would somehow make my curls go away. Thankfully, that didn’t happen. My head is still home to a mess of bouncy blonde curls, and I love them.

So you can see that I’m very attached to my curls. Keep that in mind for a few moments.

Changing topics slightly: When my daughter was born, it became clear that she looks exactly like her daddy. She’s a beautiful baby girl, but she doesn’t look very much like me. Since the day she was born, I’ve been hoping that she gets my curls. Then she’d have something of mine, too.

As I looked at my own baby book, I realized that my hair did not look particularly curly until I was about a year old. For the last 9 months, I’ve tried to not to fret too much about the fact that baby girl’s hair has been pretty straight. Until now!

The last few times I’ve bathed baby girl, I’ve noticed that her hair is looking distinctly curly. I’m a little bit worried that I’ll jinx it by gloating, but I just can’t help myself. My baby girl might look a little bit like me after all!

 

See? Those are totally curls.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lbkphotography
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 00:19:20

    Oh my goodness that would be so wonderful if she had beautiful hair like her momma! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

