My little giggle box

You know those phrases you hear people say and think Where did they come up with that? I’ve got lots of them. When I was younger, I thought my dad was totally nuts when he called me or my sister a “giggle box.” And I’m pretty sure I thought my mother was a overly sentimental for saying that we “made her heart happy.”

But you know what? Now that I’m a member of the Mommy Club myself, I totally understand the sentiments.

Every day when I pick my daughter up from daycare, she lights up at seeing me. Her grin and outstretched arms make me forget about whatever unimportant work worry I was hanging on to. She becomes my entire focus, and I’m instantly in a better mood. I now understand what my mom meant, and my daughter definitely makes my own heart happy.

After we got home today, I was holding baby girl in her rocking chair. She started squirming and I wanted just a couple more minutes of snuggle time. So I did what any normal mom would do and I tickled her. I buried my face in her belly, and do you know what she did? She giggled!

This is the most sure-fire way I’ve found to get her to giggle so far, but I’m always looking for other opportunities. Later this afternoon, her daddy was carrying her down the stairs and I was making funny noises. Again baby girl started giggling.

That laugh is the best sound in the entire world.

I hope she’s always this happy. I know that as she gets older it might not be as easy to make her giggle, but I’m holding on to hope that she’ll always be my little giggle box.

Leave a Reply

