Saturday is my favorite day of the week

Since I work outside the home during the week, weekends are particularly special for our family. We don’t always have anything particularly special planned to do, but just having the time to spend together is valuable to me.

Saturdays are the best. Baby girl doesn’t sleep in (what 9 month old does?), so hubby or I get up and play with her around 7 most Saturday mornings. About 8 o’clock whichever of us got up early with the baby brings her in to wake up the other one. Today was my day to sleep in (thanks, love!) and let me tell you, waking up to my sweet daughter’s giggles is one of the best things in the world.

After we were all up and around, it was time to go visit some friends and their boys. We had a great lunch and lots of fun with their family. Their kids are older than baby girl, and hubby and I always appreciate watching them parent. It’s great to have them as role models of parents who clearly adore their children and also teach them how to become good people.

But neither waking up to giggles nor lunch with our friends was the highlight of my day. The highlight of my day was sitting in the rocking chair while baby girl slept in my arms.

Most of the time I put her in her crib for naps, even on Saturdays, but every once in a while I spoil myself and let her sleep in my arms. It reminds me of when I was on maternity leave and would nap with her during the afternoons. We’d spend entire days sitting in that rocking chair just smiling at each other.

So Saturdays are special. They’re my time to love on my baby girl without feeling like I need to get something else done like make dinner or get her ready for bed. They’re our time to spend doing fun things as a family. And, if I’m lucky, they’re my time to rock with my beautiful child asleep in my arms. What could be better?

Leave a Reply

