It really is the little things

In the nine short months my daughter has been alive, I’m constantly amazed by the pride I feel at the little things she’s learning to do. As cliché as it sounds, the first time she smiled I absolutely melted. She was (and is) such a happy baby, that I was extremely proud to be able to show off her adorable smile.

When she started to eat solid foods, I was once again amazed as she learned to pick up pieces of food and feed herself.

In the last few weeks, she hit a big milestone: she started walking. And I have to admit, that was pretty exciting. But just today, she learned another new skill. This one isn’t one of those skills that gets classified as a “milestone,” but to me in this moment, it’s just as impressive.

You know those Fisher Price “rock-a-stack” toys? The ones that have 5 rings and a pole, and the baby can take the rings off and put them back on? Like this one:

We bought one at a consignment sale when I was pregnant, and it’s one of baby girl’s favorite toys. By the time she could sit up, she loved taking the rings off, but she didn’t want anything to do with putting them back on. So she would take the rings off, and I’d put them back. Then she’d take them off again.

Today, she put the rings back on!

Yes, I realize that I am probably way more excited than the situation really merits, but it is exciting to me. Baby girl started by taking the red ring off the top, and then she put it back. Then she took them all off and put the big blue on back on. As I handed her the rings in the right order, she put them each back on the stack.

If that wasn’t exciting enough, the next time around she figured out the order herself. Well, mostly. She got the top two mixed up, but I’d still say that’s a pretty great accomplishment. Maybe learning how to put the rings back onto the pole doesn’t rank up there will learning to walk, but to me, it was still pretty darn exciting.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 09:20:59

    This is so cute! I know I was extremly impressed when E learned that if he pulled on the lion on his playgym, it plays music to him. He grabs onto that lion and pulls like crazy until it plays his music, and then he smiles at it. Love it.

    Reply

  2. Dodging Acorns
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 09:34:04

    Every little thing is amazing and a wonderful thing to celebrate! Shout it out loud when your little ones impress you – you should take in and enjoy every little moment! It all goes by too quickly ladies – my oldest is talking in full sentences and learning words in other languages!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

