Recipe: Cheesy Chicken and Potatoes for Baby

I love, love, love cheese. Turns out baby girls does too. I discovered that my daughter likes cheese when I arrived at daycare to pick her up for one afternoon and found her munching away on shredded cheese. While I wasn’t thrilled that she had a new food without my knowledge, it turned out to be great because I wouldn’t have thought to give her cheese, and it’s one of her favorite foods.

So why do I tell you that since this is supposed to be a chicken and potatoes recipe? Because I use cheese to flavor the chicken and potatoes. Here’s the recipe:

  • 1-2 chicken breasts, cooked
  • 1 Yukon gold potato, cooked (although you could probably use any variety)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/3+ cup skim milk

I put the chicken in the food processor for a few seconds on its own. Then I add the potatoes. Once that’s mixed well, I add the cheese and milk.

I started with 1/3 cup but decided it was still a little bit dry. I’ve discovered that this recipe dries out a little bit when you microwave the frozen cubes, so it’s better to add a little extra milk at the outset. Once I got it to the consistency I like, I scooped it out into an ice cube tray. This recipe makes about 12 ice cubes (about 2 tablespoons in each cube).

Another nice thing about this recipe is it mixes well with the vegetable purees. Baby girl doesn’t love carrots, but she eats them if I mix pureed carrots with this chicken mixture. I’ve also mixed it with peas and squash.

Leave a Reply

