Recipe: Baby Berries

Last week, I took baby girl to the pediatrician for her 9 month check up. The doctor said it was time to start exploring more foods. With a few exceptions, she said baby girl could eat anything I wanted to give her. I figured I’d start introducing some of my favorite foods to her.

Since it’s probably a little early to start my daughter’s chocolate addiction, I opted for berries. Hubby and I both love berries. My favorite is probably strawberries, but hubby really likes blueberries. I decided to see what would happen if I mixed them.

Figuring that strawberries and blueberries wouldn’t puree to a good consistency, I decided to throw in some banana as well. Here’s the recipe:

  • 2/3 cup blueberries
  • 6 decent sized strawberries
  • Half of a banana

I cut the strawberries and banana into small pieces. Then I tossed everything into the food processor together. I left the food processor on for a full minute because the blueberries didn’t seem to puree well with less time.

At first, it seemed pretty thin. Since baby girl was playing in the kitchen, I had her try it out. We added some baby oatmeal to thicken it, and she ate an entire ¼ cup of the berries plus the oatmeal. I’d call that a success!

Once I returned to the kitchen, I realized the mixture set up to a yogurt-like consistency. I scooped it out into an ice cube tray to freeze. I’ll probably give it to her both ways (with and without oatmeal) so that she gets used to different textures. So far, it’s definitely a hit. She smacks her lips and makes little “yum yum” noises in between bites.

This recipe makes about ½ an ice cube tray. You can definitely double it if your little one likes it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Watch out baby food, real food’s making an entrance « Focused on Happy

Leave a Reply

