Baby Food 101: Basic Purees

When I first started making baby girl’s food, I leaned toward simple purees with only one primary ingredient. When my daughter was about to turn six months old, my mother in law gave me one of her extra squash. I read somewhere that yellow or orange vegetables are the best first baby foods. Not sure if that’s true, but I went with it and used that squash to make baby girl’s first food.

I cut the squash in half and microwaved it for about 10 minutes. Once it was soft, I scooped out all of the flesh and put it in the food processor. The consistency wasn’t great, so I added breast milk until it was smooth and fairly thin.

It went over pretty well. One thing I’ve learned since then, though: Don’t use breast milk. Since breast milk shouldn’t be left out for more than 1 hour after it’s thawed, you have to use the baby food you make with it pretty quickly. If baby decides she doesn’t want to eat right after I thaw a cube, it’s basically wasted if I used breast milk. I’ve since switched to using skim milk or the cooking water to thin out purees.

Another lesson I’ve learned: steaming vegetables usually works better than microwaving. Squash is the exception. But carrots in particular turn out MUCH better if steamed rather than microwaved.

Later this week: more adventurous foods!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenni Runyan
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 11:11:39

    Hey! I love to roast my squash- flesh side down in the oven for 45- mins to an hour and then puree. Don’t usually need to add anything to thin. (But understand for baby food!) I puree lots of different fruits and veg to add to whatever we are making. I portion my purees into snack or sandwich size ziplock bags and freeze them flat. Whenever I want to add one to what we are cooking- I toss the ziplock onto a plate in the sink and run hot water on it until it is thawed enough for my use, cut off one of the corners and squeeze the contents into my dish. The best part is that my family is getting added nutrients and have no idea! I still serve fruits and veggies with our meals as well.

    Reply

  2. focusedonhappy
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 11:14:25

    What a great suggestion, Jenni! I have another friend who adds pureed califlower to her spaghetti sauce and other things so that her family gets the added nutrients. I’ll have to keep that in mind as baby girl gets older – or maybe start doing it for me and hubby now 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

