My baby’s walking!

Look out world – there’s another baby on the loose. My 9-month-old daughter has figured out the fine art of toddling. Sunday morning she took a couple of tentative steps toward her daddy. Then Monday she was coaxed into a few more with a sippy cup (we caught that one on video!). But Tuesday takes the cake. When I arrived at daycare to pick her up, she toddled a full four or five feet into my arms. I’ve got to say, that’s up there in my favorite mommy moments thus far.

The first time my daughter squirmed away from someone else because she only wanted me, I told my husband it was “life validating.” I may not be perfect, but my daughter sure thinks I am. So when she teetered and tottered toward me earlier, I felt the same way — like being her mommy is what I was created to do. At the same time, I’m so proud of my baby girl.Before she figured out how to pick up one foot and put it in front of the other, she would stand still looking so frustrated. It was like she knew what she wanted to do, but she couldn’t quite figure out how to do it.

Well, she’s figured it out now, and she’s so happy about it. Every time she pulls herself up on something – the table … the couch … my pants leg – she gets a mischievous look in her eye and grins at me. Then she takes off towards the dog’s toy (see previous post) or water dish or the stairs.

But every once in a while, she takes off toward me. And seeing her smiling and toddling toward me “makes my heart happy” as my mom would say.

So for all you other mommies out there, what are your favorite mommy moments?

Leave a Reply

