Dog: baby’s role model

A friend of mine had a baby two weeks ago, and hubby and I brought our little girl to meet them this week. When we arrived, we were greeted by the tiniest baby I’ve ever seen. Little O is only 5 pounds and 10 ounces at two weeks old, but she’s healthy and perfect. She has those beautiful wrinkly baby feet and a teeny tiny little nose.

When we introduced my nine-month-old daughter to O, she smiled and gingerly put her hand on the little baby’s shoulder. That’s my girl, caring and gentle.

I swear she’s learned this trait from our dog, Tank. He’s a 70 pound black lab, but he’s surprisingly gentle with baby. He’s been known to let her stuff her entire arm in his mouth without biting her.

That’s really saying something considering that my daughter’s favorite toy is Tank’s kong. For those of you without big dogs, a kong is a red rubber ball-type thing that is basically indestructible. Good for black labs, not so good for baby girls.

Anyway, my daughter will crawl all the way across three rooms to get to the kong. Tank lets her. Heck, he even brings it to her. After a minute or two, Tank takes the kong away and lets baby try to get it back. My daughter will place her hand inside the dog’s mouth and take the toy back. And the dog lets her!

So this is the example she has. A big, slobbery but loveable dog who understands the value of gentleness. I think that’s how she knew to be so careful with O. Let’s hope that she keeps up the gentle trait and outgrows the desire to play with the dog’s toys.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dodging Acorns
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 13:57:48

    Tiny babies are amazing! I remember holding Omni’s son when he was super tiny, I was scared and I was already a mama 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

