Joining the Mommy Club

My entrance to the mommy club came early in my pregnancy. The morning after my husband and I discovered that we were going to be parents, I was still in shock. I arrived at work and promptly asked two mommies I knew if a positive pregnancy test really meant I was having a baby.

They assured me it did.

Drats.

You see, I wasn’t overjoyed at the thought of having a child when we first found out we were pregnant. Although hubby and I wanted to be parents eventually, getting pregnant less than three months into our marriage wasn’t in our original plans.

But you know what they say about the best laid plans, so there we were — pregnant. As I cried on my husband’s shoulder that evening, I knew that our lives were about to change drastically, but I think I also knew that the little baby growing inside me would bring us more joy than we could imagine at that point.

The next day at work the same two mommies brought me what they described as a “pregnancy kit.” That kit included:

  • 1 travel-sized stick of deodorant
  • 1 folding toothbrush with travel-sized toothpaste
  • 1 small bottle of mouth wash
  • 1 box of Zantac
  • 1 box of shine removing face wipes
  • 1 small bottle of TUMS
  • 5 packets of Lemon Drops
  • 5 packets of Red Hots

And let me tell you, the kit kept me from throwing up in front of my co-workers on multiple occasions. Most of the items in the kit had obvious uses, but the candies puzzled me. Turns out that strong flavors like cinnamon and lemon help keep nausea at bay, at least long enough to make it to the ladies’ room.

My mommy friends couldn’t have known in those early days that I would have the kind of “morning sickness” that makes you feel ill all day and vomit multiple times throughout each day. My obstetrician eventually gave me medicine for it (I’m still grateful!), but the cinnamon candies helped. I actually opted for Hot Tamales candy after I ate all of the Red Hots in the original pregnancy kit. For the first few months of my pregnancy, I kept a handful or so of the squishy red candies in my pockets just in case.

So there you have it: my induction into the mommy club. Those wonderful co-workers reminded me that I was not the first woman to go through this crazy adventure called pregnancy, nor would I be the last.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 00:11:10

    Christi this is wonderful for you but terrifying for me. LOL

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Confessions of a working mom: Umm…. I think I peed my pants « Focused on Happy

Leave a Reply

