Catching up

I can’t believe it’s been more than a year since I wrote on this blog. As you can imagine, quite a lot has happened in that time. When I last posted, L had just turned 2 years old. G-man was only 5 months old. Today, Lynnie is already 3, and the Gibster is almost 2.

One thing I’ve noticed over the past few months is how much harder it’s been for me to focus on the happy things in my life. Life is hectic, work can be stressful, and we’ve been crazy busy. So with all of that going on, I’m going to start blogging again and focus on the little things my kids do every day that make my heart happy.

My mom used to say that to me when I was a kid – that I “made her heart happy”.  I’m not sure I totally understood why she said that until I had my own kids. But I totally get it now. Every day as I pick up my two awesome children from daycare, I feel the stress of the day melt away and my heart is happier for being around them.

So where do I start updating you on what’s been happening for the past year? Let’s just say that we’ve made some fantastic memories, and I’ll probably write about a few of them in the future. But for now, I’ll just write about today.

Our kids are in a fantastic daycare center. The teachers there are fun, loving and passionate about watching over our children each day. This evening, those same teachers gave up their evenings to throw a Halloween party for the kids. It was so much fun!

Lynn loves princess (what preschool girl doesn’t?), so we got her a Cinderella costume this year. She looked so grown up with her hair in a bun and the little white gloves! Does it sound silly to say that a 3-year-old looked grown up in a princess costume? Check out this picture and let me know if you agree.

Lynnie all dressed up!

Is that Cinderella?

So cute, but definitely like a big kid right?

You might ask why we don’t have a picture of the Gibster in his costume. The poor guy was terrified of his monkey costume. His daddy tried to help him put it on, and he screamed for Mama. When I tried to put it on, he continued screaming and clinging to my shoulder. Needless to say, we brought him to the party sans costume, and he had a great time anyway.

Both kids had tons of fun dancing to music in the “party room,” getting their faces painted (Lynn got a heart, and Gibby wanted a ghost!), and making Halloween crafts with their teachers. I’m grateful every day that our children are safe, loved and well-educated while I’m at work. Today, I was just a little more grateful to watch them play at the place where they spend so much of their time.

Thanks for taking a few moments to read this. If there are other things you’d like to hear about, let me know!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michele C.
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 09:06:22

    welcome back mama ;-)

    Reply

  2. Emily B.
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 10:10:18

    Maybe you should consider pulling back on work if it is an option? I can’t believe how fast the time goes and how quickly kids grow up and change. Incredible.

    Reply

    • focusedonhappy
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 11:32:46

      I think that would be tough in my role ;) But I love that you were able to make it work and spend more time with little A. For now, I’m trying to make the most of the time I do have with my kids. Sometimes that means relaxing a little and being late for a meeting so that Lynnie gets one more snuggle or Gibby gets to eat yogurt before school.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

